Alaska Film Festival

More Information:

2018 Film and Screenplay Competition Winners

The Alaska International Film Awards congratulates its 2018 award recipients.

Film Competition Winners Grand Jury Award: Old Harbor, New Hope directed by Joshua A Branstetter

Special Jury Award: Circus Ecuador directed by Ashley Bishop & Jim Brassard
Best Action Film: OSPREY directed by Wayne Slaten
Best Alaskan Film: The Salmon Forest directed by Ben Hamilton

Best Comedy: Dominika directed by Oleg Ageichev

Best Director: Chambers Gate directed by Charles Ross & Mukesh Asopa

Best Documentary Feature: Reinventing Rosalee directed by Lillian Glass 

Best Drama:Creepy Crawling directed by Chelsea Comeau

Best Educational Film: Off The Streets for Good directed by Luciana Lagana

Best Environmental Film: Irreparable Harm directed by Colin Arisman & Connor Gallagher
Best Narrative Feature: Pomegranate orchard directed by Ilgar Najaf

Best Narrative Short: Escape directed by Johnny Cortes
Best Romance: Faith's Gambit directed by Steven Zlotowski & Kevin Ernst

Best Screenplay: Tide directed by Margarta F. A. Orkan

Best Short Film: In A Heartbeat directed by Konstantin Frolov & Paul Okpuno

Best Sci-Fi Film: Growers directed by Sierra Tillman

Best Student Film: New Kid In Town directed by Kelvin Torres

Best Thriller: SEHER directed by Manas Shashidharan Jacob

Best Music Video: El Amor directed by Raul Simao
Best Foreign Film: Beyond the Summit directed by Beyond the summit Kodiak Awards

SALMON: THE WILD CONNECTION directed by Liz McKenzie
Essence of Healing: The Journey of American Indian Nurses directed by Loretta Heuer, Candace Muggerud
story for an empty theatre directed by Aleksandr Balagura , Cesare Bedogne
Dead in the Water directed by David Wittkower
The Road Not Taken directed by Aditi Kodesia, Gaurav Kodesia
Beyond the border the story of Ettore Castiglioni directed by Andrea Azzetti, Federico Massa
A Sniper's War directed by Olya Schechter
Enough White Teacups directed by Michelle Bauer Carpenter
DAWNLAND directed by Adam Mazo, Ben Pender-Cudlip
Wolverine: Ghost of the Northern Forest directed by Andrew Manske & Jeff Turner
Redshift Poster directed by Benjamin Crane

Denali Awards

CausaliDox - A Life Less Lived directed by Arne Venema, Marcus Moonen
Song For the Moon directed by Michael McCallum
Delightful directed by Anna Haas
Daddy directed by Pan Ting
PAGE 4directed by Jaydeep Yeole, Paritosh Pradhan, Kshitij Kulkarni
PAPA directed by Dan Israely
Waiting for Kiarostami directed by Hossein Khandan
Quintessential The Movie directed by Sammie Johnson
SELFIE directed by Andrey Kartavtsev
Who Decides directed by Mylissa Fitzsimmons
Do Sled Dogs Dream in Color directed by Michael Cullen
Nazirite directed by Nazirite
El Niño directed by Nikita Dunovits-Ferrier

Northern Lights Emerging Talent Awards

It is not only about fish directed by Kodjo Adanledji
Conversations with Cows directed by Caroline James
Anna Karenina directed by Yana Sar
Memento Mori directed by Stuart Creque
MARIA directed by Catarina Neves Ricci
BAIT! directed by Keith Robertson
The Fundraiser directed by Jim Calarco
In the arms of the sea (15) directed by Dmitry Moiseev
Cake Day directed by Joshua Choran
Foreword directed by Michael McCallum
Breakfast In Bed directed by Cameron A. Mitchell
Confidence Of a Tall Man directed by Michael McCallum
Where the Jungle Ends directed by Joe Stucky

Screenplay Competition Top Winners

1st Place Screenplay - Table For Four written by Jim Norman

2nd Place Screenplay - Thank You, Amelia Earhart written by Al Mertens

3rd Place Screenplay - Costume Drama written by Marion McDowell

Kodiak Award - Cherry Glazed written by Christine Sherwood

Denali Award - White Water Rescue
Original Television Movie written by Harold L. Brown
Northern Lights
Emerging Talent Award - Charlie Chaplin Part 2 written by Ian Burns

Screenplay Competition Official Finalists

Lions of the Sea written by Jessi Thind
Dr. Needmore written by Lucy Fazely
SPIRALMIND written by Benito F Perez, Jackson J Smith
The Fight After written by Gunnar E Garrett Jr.
All for One written by Daniel Victor Flores
PLAY THE FOOL written by Mark Gunnion
MOONRACER written by Jessi Thind
Hope is Not a Black and White Rainbow written by Harold L. Brown
Rainbows and Silver Buckles : The Adventures of Joe And Muz written by Stuart Schulz.
Heart of the Wild written by Chase Hahn
CHAMPS-ÉLYSÉES written by Serge Adam
The Kosher Mutiny (Max's Deli Pilot Episode)written by Jim Norman
Nour written by Maitha Alawadi
Tectonics written by Gayla Goehl
New Hollywood written by Rob Weinstein
Springtime in Alaska written by Stephen Sorenson
Paradigm Shift written by Katherine Fitzgerald
Metro written by Tristan Aird