Alaska Film Festival

More Information:

2012 Film and Screenplay Competition Winners

The Alaska International Film Awards congratulates its 2012 award recipients.

2012 Winners Official Press Release

Film Competition Winners

Grand Jury Award: Masque directed by Robert Hatch
Special Jury Award: In the Name of the Son directed by Sharif Abdunnur
Best of Alaska Award: Magpie directed by Russell O. Bush
Best Animation: Snap directed by Thomas G. Murphy
Best Comedy: The Wedding Party directed by Amanda Jane
Best Director: Climbing Element directed by Christoph Strobl
Best Documentary: Happy You're Alive directed by Neta Zwebner-Zaibert
Best Drama: Champions directed by Sarah Burrell-Davis
Best Educational Film: Brooks: The City of 100 Hellos directed by Brandy Yanchyk
Best Experimental Film: The Crossing directed by David A. Walz
Best Family Film: Necking directed by Lindsay Lindenbaum
Best Foreign Film: Peter - A Study for a Portrait of a Serial Killer directed by Skip Kite
Best Independent Film: Der Struwwelpeter directed by Sabine Asanger
Best Narrative Feature: 40 West directed by Dana Packard
Best Narrative Short: The Maiden and the Princess directed by Ali Scher
Best Newcomer: The Undercard directed by Sarah B. Downey
Best Romance: Poised directed by Randall Sawka
Best Screenplay: The Line Of Departure directed by Folleh Tamba
Best Short Film: Attack of the Bulldogs directed by Fischer Knapp
Best Sports Film: Mary and Bill directed by Andrew Napier
Best Student Film: Kinderspiel directed by Lars Kornhoff
Best Thriller: Strange Eyes directed by Jesse Collins

Kodiak Awards

Alter directed by Petros Antoniadis
Carbon for Water directed by Evan Abramson & Carmen Elsa Lopez Abramson
Day 01 directed by Christina Fakinou
Diary of a Vampire directed by Barrett Perlman
Life is Elsewhere directed by Huangjiandong
My Mind directed by Jason Harrington
New York Showcase directed by Albert Uria
No One But Us directed by Roman Shumunov
Randy Parsons: American Luthier directed by David Aldrich
Trafficking directed by Modern Wolter

Denali Awards

A Dead Dog Like Me directed by Ian McCullough
Border of Lies directed by Matt Grodsky
Bridges directed by Christopher Bell
Brother's Keeper directed by Nathan Douglas
Christmas With Martini directed by Un Ha Park
Echoes of Exxon directed by Lauren Lindberg
I Met Her in the Coffee Shop directed by Erik Hogan
Salt directed by Diego Rougier
Spinning Kite directed by Satoshi Kase
Supporting Characters directed by Daniel Schechter

Northern Lights Emerging Talent Awards

20th Century Man directed by Dustin Lee
Fat Cows Lean Cows directed by Meni Elias
Flapjack directed by Val Blakely
Here, Now & Tomorrow directed by Stefan Elsenbruch & Raphael Wallner
It's Magic! directed by Nayda Lebron
Last Stand At Nymboida directed by Jeff Bird
Look to the Cookie directed by Lindsay Lindenbaum
Margins directed by Stimson Snead
Waning directed by Gina Haraszti
Wolves Unleashed directed by Andrew Simpson

Screenplay Competition Top Winners

1st Place Screenplay - "Zombie Games" written by Emily Thorne and Claire Thorne
2nd Place Screenplay - "See Me" written by Noga Brienes
3rd Place Screenplay - "Loveband" written by Nicola Pedrozzi
Kodiak Award - "If You Know What I Mean" written by Ron Vigil
Denali Award - "Homunculos" written by Austen Brauker
Northern Lights Emerging Talent Award - "Shadow of the Bear" written by Randy Vampotic

Screenplay Competition Official Finalists

"Adam's Tallit" written by Justin Olstein
"Ambulance!" written by Von Kambro
"Black Bubble" written by Massimo Borghi
"Cake" written by Patrick Tobin
"Double Take" written by John J. Maffucci
"Fin Chaser" written by Maria Cozzi
"Funhouse" written by Paul Ellington
"Ganymede Pan" written by David Johnson
"Groupthink" written by Jared Rieger
"Metacomet a.k.a. King Philip" written by Richard Guimond
"Playing Through" written by John Harris
"Ragtime" written by Burleigh Smith
"The Good Judge" written by Linda Friedman Ramirez
"The Inuit Fisherman" written by Max Robinson
"The Starks" written by Bill Hanson