Alaska Film Festival

More Information:

2011 Film and Screenplay Competition Winners

The Alaska International Film Awards congratulates its 2011 award recipients.

2011 Winners Official Press Release

Film Competition Winners

Grand Jury Award: The Little Things directed by Neil McGregor
Special Jury Award: The Triangle Of Death directed by Folleh Tamba
Special Jury Award: Winter directed by Steve Bellamy
Best of Alaska Award: North directed by Mark C. Smith
Best Action Sports Film: Destination 3 Degrees directed by Chris Aguilar
Best Animation: Animation: A Palette of Possibilities directed by Angela Hinton
Best Comedy: Bathing and the Single Girl directed by Christine Elise McCarthy
Best Director: SpokAnarchy! directed by David Halsell
Best Documentary Feature: Unbroken: The Pearl Bluegrass Circle directed by Winston Hall
Best Documentary Short: Beatboxing - The Fifth Element of Hip Hop directed by Klaus Schneyder
Best Drama: Still Waters Run Deep directed by Michael St. John Savva
Best Educational Film: Where The Streets Have No Name directed by Vijaykumar Mirchandani
Best Experimental Film: The Polar Explorer directed by Mark Terry
Best Foreign Film: Fragmentum directed by Yiannia Antonas
Best Independent Film: Citizen Mayor directed by Koi Walker
Best Narrative Feature: Tauwetter directed by Philipp Honig
Best Narrative Short: Pipe Dreams directed by Ben Green
Best Romance: Stella directed by Wes Weitzenhoffer
Best Screenplay: Pathfinders: In the Company of Strangers directed by Curt A. Sindelar
Best Short Film: Andre directed by Christopher Fernandez
Best Student Short: Kidnap directed by Sijia Luo

Kodiak Awards

8:00 a.m. directed by Pablo Ortega
Amanda directed by Michael Tanner Cusumano
Benny directed by Huay-Bing Law
Death By Medicine directed by Gary Null & Valerie Van Cleve
Hauraki directed by Kirsten Green
Immigration Tango directed by David Burton Morris
In Her Eyes directed by Robert Smellin & Chris Smellin
In Silence directed by Ewa Ewart
Pretty Good for Someone Like You directed by Jill Kuirsky
Slate directed by Carmen Vidal

Denali Awards

1 Night in London directed by Resul Keech
A Shade in the Sky! directed by Eric Lavelle
Ad Infinitum directed by Benjamin Ridgway & Benjamin Ridgway
Break directed by Ray Pang
Enchanted directed by Emily McMehen
Finding Jenua directed by Alison Mason
First and Foremost directed by Kerry Snyder
Plight of the Earth Fairy directed by Kim Sheridan
Requiem for Kosova directed by Dhimitri Ismailaj
Smoke and Mirrors directed by Theresa Wu

Northern Lights Emerging Talent Awards

Algorhythm directed by Tyler O'Neil & James Rodenhouse
Egoiste directed by Stefanos Kosmidis
Hansel and Gretel directed by Hee Sun Kim
Mugs directed by Ronnie Cramer & Ronnie Cramer
OnAir directed by Carsten Vauth & Marco J. Riedl
Dear Mom directed by Calum Weir
Sudden Death! directed by Adam Hall
The Hunt directed by Johannes Schaff
The Romance directed by Youngim Park & Minwoo Kimjeong
Where I Begin directed by Thomas L. Phillips

Screenplay Competition Top Winners

1st Place Screenplay - "Mixed Metaphor" written by Adam Whitaker
2nd Place Screenplay - "Bakker's Dozen" written by Daniel D. Molinoff
3rd Place Screenplay - "Courting Death" written by Heather Silvio

Kodiak Award - "Halfway Home" written by David Schroeder
Denali Award - "Onlookers" written by Erika Sanz
Northern Lights Emerging Talent Award - "The Last Mermaid" written by Shanon Culiner

Screenplay Competition Official Finalists

Almost Vampy written Paul Regnier
Ceduna written by Mathew Wilkinson
Chief Red Iron - The Lakota Uprising written by Gregory Heitmann
Dirty Business written by Haik Hakobian
Eden written by Jason Rostovsky
Encore written by Tamar Bolkvadze
Hoax written by Matt Allen & Scott Park
Sunset Fire written by Rick Brandelli & A. Wayne Carter
The Dunk and Tickle written by Jennifer Harrison
The Dinasour Girl written by Marc Morgenstern
The Eaglet written by Eugene A. Gavrilenko
The Story of Frank written by Stephen Krystek
Three Wooden Crosses written by George M. Goodenough
Winneconne Was Here written by Anthony Catalano
Wrigley & King written by Cornelius Murphy