Alaska Film Festival

More Information:

2010 Film and Screenplay Competition Winners

The Alaska International Film Awards congratulates its 2010 award recipients.

2010 Winners Official Press Release

Film Competition Winners

Grand Jury Award - (Blindlings) Blindspot directed by Wolfgang Weigl
Special Jury Award - Ori directed by Gorka Gómez Andreu
Best Narrative Feature - The River Why directed by Matthew Leutwyler
Best Documentary Feature - Mt. St. Elias directed by Gerald Salmina
Best Director - Jordan Fuller for My Father's Son directed by JorDan Fuller
Best Actor - Zach Gilford in The River Why directed by Matthew Leutwyler
Best Actress - Hallee Hirsh for 16 to Life directed by Becky Smith
Best Narrative Short - Lights directed by Giullio Ricciarelli
Best Documentary Short - Alaska King Salmon on a Fly directed by David Ondaatje
Best Action Sports Film - The Story directed by Steve Bellamy
Best Foreign Film - Zorion Perfektua directed by Jabi Elortegi
Best Experimental Film - Das möblierte Zimmer (The Furnished Room) directed by Nina Jäckle
Best Student Feature - Entertainer's Last Stand directed by Carlos Pagan
Best Student Short - The Architect directed by Joshua Demers
Best Music Video - The Moving Town directed by Alberto Nacci
Best Animation - Henhouse directed by Elena Pomares
Best of Alaska Award - Héen Táak (Bottom of the Water) directed by Nathalie Lasselin

Kodiak Awards

Generations by Teton Gravity Research
Yellow Cake directed by Joachim Tschirner
Beijing Punk directed by Shaun Jefford
The Antarctica Challenge: A Global Warning directed by Mark Terry
Africa's Lost Eden directed by James Byrne
Snow and Ashes directed by Charles-Olivier Michaud
L'appello directed by Emilio Briguglio & Federico Rozas
Island of the Gondoliers directed by Guido Muzzarelli
Elf Sparkle Meets Christmas The Horse directed by Beth Roose and Emily Sien
Anne Jennings directed by Hitoshi Yoshikawa

Denali Awards

We Live by the River directed by Karin Williams
At Home By Myself… With You directed by Kris Booth
Chrysalis directed by Mariana Magnavita
The Legend of Buffalo Calf Girl directed by Roger Slagle
A Long-distance Call directed by Joe Chang
But Some Are Brave directed by Grace Channer
Michael Jackson Shining directed by Trevor Parham
Plan directed by Slawomir Pstrong & Aleksander Kulakowska
Bruja directed by Andres Peyrot
Breadwinner directed by Cornelius Murphy

Northern Lights Emerging Talent Awards

Dog Gone Addiction - Inspired by the Women of the Yukon Quest directed by Becky Bristow
Beautiful Islands directed by Tomoko Kana
Water and a City directed by Swati Dandekar
State of Aloha directed by Anne Misawa
RE: Session by Teton Gravity Research
Medium Raw: Night of the Wolf directed by Andrew Cymek
Skylight directed by David Baas
Careful What You Wish For directed by Tim Vogel
El Hecho Imposible directed by Sven Heinrich
We Are All Here directed by Yonghwa Choi

Screenplay Competition Top Winners

1st Place Screenplay - "In the Belly of the Whale" by Steven Doxey & Brandon Pearson
2nd Place Screenplay - "Chances" by Jeff Trently & Anthony Stitt
3rd Place Screenplay - "Caroline and Johann: A Love Story" by Dennis Cohen

Kodiak Award - "Heart of Alaska, Part 1 and 2" by John Michael Sudol and Robert Charles Lesher
Denali Award - "Up River" by Roger Slagle
Northern Lights Emerging Talent Award - "Sun Breaks" by Yarrow Vincent-Wayman

Screenplay Competition Official Finalists

"Erasure" by Michael Grebb
"Lucid Dreams of Wickedness" by Paul Dupree
"Carla" by Christoph Schinko
"The Road to Atonement" by John F. Maffucci
"Picture Man" by Broderick Fox
"Anemia" by Bobby Floyd
"The Katmai Tragedy" by Tara Erin Blake
"Soiled Doves" by Mark Esslinger
"Towing" by Cari Callis
"There Are No Superheros" by Benjamin Bates
"Kennedy's Children" by Patricia Edmisten
"Greenhorn" by Matthew Bombeck and Brandon Robinson
"Pink Ladder" by Mona Nahm
"The Kidnap Wish" by Teague Kennedy
"The Ace of Aces" by Geoffrey Breuder